Vintage Camper Progress: Paint vs. Purchase

So many updates! Okay, let me start off by saying this “little project” is a lot of work. I psyched myself up before getting this camper and was completely aware of what I was getting myself into, I just didn’t realize how many man hours this thing would take. I am enjoying it though. I’ve been trying to complete this project with more elbow grease than dollars spent, so that has created a lot of extra work on my part (i.e. painting fixtures instead of simply buying new ones, creating new cushions by hand instead of buying new ones, etc etc). That being said, here are some pictures of my progress over the past two weeks 🙂

Here are my paint vs. purchase updates:

image_2

The camper had these gold and yellowish handles when we bought it. I knew right when I saw them that they needed to go. The silver one below it looks like a brand new handle, but its really the same one, just spray painted with a coat of metallic silver paint! This was no cost to us because we’ve had this can of spray paint for years! Cha-ching!
image_1

Only one of the 22 hinges needed to be replaced because this one on the right was rusted beyond repair. I salvaged all of the hinges by simply using sand paper to remove the rust off of the surfaces. A coat of silver spray paint is all they needed to look good as new 🙂

image_3

This gold handle is the handle from the bathroom door. I wanted to get a brand new one that was a little larger in size, but my mom convinced me to keep it because it was “cute and tiny”. Haha, needless to say, this handle also got a fresh coat of silver spray paint. I really dig spray paint – if you haven’t realized that already.

image_4

Fresh coat of paint = good as new! So far, we’ve estimated that we’ve saved about $150-$175 on fixtures. We would’ve had to buy all brand new hinges, drawer pulls/handles, and one door knob/handle combo.

Here’s the breakdown.

  • 22 new hinges at $2.49 a piece = $54.78 pre tax
  • 12 drawer pulls/handles at $8.44 a piece = $101.28 pre tax
  • One door knob/handle at $8.47 a piece = $8.47 pre tax
  • Total amount saved: $164.53 pre tax! Again.. cha-ching!

So far so good because I love free updates! I only need to replace one hinge that is beyond repair at a whopping $2.49. I think I can handle that 😉 I have a lot more completed but no time to write about it. I’m trying to get as much as possible completed on this holiday weekend. Taking advantage of some “free time” = a lot of manual labor. No complaints here though because I truly love renovation projects. Come back soon for color scheme and interior paint progress 🙂

One thought on “Vintage Camper Progress: Paint vs. Purchase

  1. I did the same thing with all of my hardware. Amazing what a little paint can fix isn’t it – lol! Great job! Like you, I’ve become all too aware of what a process rehabing one of these old vinties is. But so worth it!!

Leave a Reply

