Vintage Camper Dreams Do Come True!

image_7I’ve finally scored my very own vintage camper! We picked her up from Port Huron, Michigan two days ago. I can’t tell you how excited I am to update this gem. She was in awesome condition for being 40 years old! We could tell her previous owners took really great care of her. I plan on painting the “wood grain” stripes on the exterior either a minty green or a turquoise. Here are some specs on my little Lark:

Year: 1973

Brand: Lark

Size: 13-14 feet

There’s actually some debate out there on what truly qualifies as “vintage”. Some people say it has to be 50 years old to be considered vintage, but most people say 30 years old qualifies. I’m not sure who these internet judges think they are but regardless, “vintage” sounds way cooler than “old”.

Anyway, the interior on this beauty is pretty awesome as well. The owners before us made some cute little white vinyl and red bandana patterned slip covers and curtains, which are still in pretty good shape. The dinette area here converts into a bed that sleeps either one adult or two little kiddos:

image_4The other side of the camper is equipped with a long bench that pulls out and converts into a double/queen sized bed. It’s got an interesting little step-up by the potty area and closet. I forgot to take a picture of that corner, but you guys can use your imagination. Hint: a lot more wood panelling.

image_5

image_2It came with an air conditioner wall unit too that actually works! But my actual favorite part about this camper is the ruby red stove. It’s so cute and tiny! I don’t think its even been used, it looks far too pristine. With a little elbow grease, I’m confident I can get that baby to really shine.

image_15Another awesome bonus is the red flooring. A vintage camper with solid walls, no water damage, AND a sturdy floor is so hard to come by. We got really lucky and don’t have to replace any of those in ours. The structure is solid and this red floor is the greatest. A little dirty now, but I’ll be working on that.

image_6Can you see the potential?! I’m super excited, obviously.

Yesterday I stripped out all of the cushions, cleaned and power washed the inside foam and the covers. I bleached all surfaces, including the inside of the fridge (yuck). I also vacuumed all nooks and crannies. All much needed work! I’ll keep y’all posted on my improvements. Next up, filling some holes, replacing some panelling, recovering the cushions, and painting nearly everything. There’s a lot of red going on right now and everything feels a little… dark. I’m going to tone down the red by mixing in some bright blues and brighten up the dark wood interior with white paint. The exterior paint and all fixtures need an update too. So much to do, but I’m so excited! Stay tuned 🙂

image_13PS: Kenzie already found her favorite spot 🙂

10 thoughts on “Vintage Camper Dreams Do Come True!

  1. We just purchased a 1972 Lark over the weekend! Can’t wait to see what all you do to yours! Maybe I’ll get some inspiration from seeing what you do. 🙂

  2. Do you have any recent pictures?? Can I ask what the price you paid was? I’m thinking of buying one and want an idea of price??

  3. I bought one too! Looks so similar but is a 1970 Revella LoPal. Much worse condition but I am starting to rebuild her now. Then along came another adorable one….beware! It’s addictive! Have a blast redoing this little gem! Can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

