Skinny Crock Pot Taco Chili

Crock Pot Taco Chili (Skinny!) - Pocketful of Sugar

In the spirit of my week long Mexican vacation, I give you: Skinny Taco Chili. I was inspired to make this because a couple weeks ago I stumbled across an idea for taco soup. I took that idea and ran with it. I made this with stuff just lying in my pantry, screaming to be included. I threw everything into a crock pot and the rest is history. This chili is so versatile. So far we’ve eaten it as chili with avocado, cheese and sour cream on top, eaten it as a dip with torilla chips, and stuffed it in tortillas to bake as enchiladas. As Dora the Explorer would say: Delicioso!

In my Mexican dishes I never use store-bought ‘taco seasoning’ for the mere fact that I’m not a fan of a lot of salt in my dishes. I included my mix of spices that I use to make taco seasoning.

INGREDIENTS:

2 lbs ground beef or turkey, browned and drained

*taco seasoning, see below

1 28-oz can of diced tomatoes

1 15-oz can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, drained

1 15-oz can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 15-oz can of northern white beans, drained and rinsed

1 15-oz can whole kernel sweet corn

1 6-oz can of sliced black olives

TACO SEASONING:

1 part** chili powder

1 part ground cumin

1 part onion powder

1/4-1/2 part crushed red pepper

**For this recipe, 1 part = 2 tbsp but you can also make a bunch at once and save it for all of your mexican cooking!

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a large skillet, brown and drain 2 lbs of ground beef or turkey. Return the cooked meat to the pan and sprinkle with taco seasoning. Add 1/4 cup water to the pan and stir well to ensure that the seasoning is evenly distributed throughout.

2. In a 6-quart crock pot, dump all of the canned ingredients (paying attention to whether to drain them or not) and add the seasoned beef or turkey. Cook the mixture for 3-4 hours on high heat or 8-10 hours on low heat. I enjoyed mine topped with avocado, sour cream with chives and cheddar cheese. It was to die for 🙂

Crock Pot Taco Chili - Pocketful of Sugar

4 thoughts on “Skinny Crock Pot Taco Chili

  1. This looks great! I was new to ‘taco soup’ last year. I had never heard of it in the Southwest but it is popular here in Kentucky. Go figure! This recipe looks quite delish! I like your addition of the taco seasoning recipe!

Leave a Reply

