Chicken Pad Thai: Our Growing Edge Challenge

Easy Chicken Pad Thai Recipe - Pocketful of Sugar

So everyone who knows me, knows I love a good challenge. Genie from Bunny. Eats. Design. emailed me, asking me to participate in the Our Growing Edge blog challenge. The challenge was to make something food-related and blog about it. Perfect! Considering I made a Food Bucket List recently and there was one item on the list I’ve been dying to try, this was kind of a kill-two-birds-with-one-stone scenario. Needless to say, I’ve accepted this challenge. For more info on the Our Growing Edge challenge, click this link: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

our-growing-edge-banner

For this challenge, I’ve decided to make the one thing that I’d love to conquer on a ‘homemade’ level: Chicken Pad Thai. I’m not actually scared to make it, I just hold restaurant and take-out Pad Thai on a pedestal (I know, I know, it probably doesn’t even compare to authentic Pad Thai.. but I have yet to go to Thailand so give me a break).

I always order it at Thai restaurants and take-out style, so I figured it would be cool to make it on my own. Here’s what I threw in my Chicken Pad Thai recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

1 package rice noodles

1 lb chicken tenderloins, diced

1 tbsp salted butter

1/2 tbsp red pepper flakes

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup onion, diced

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1 egg or 2 egg whites, scrambled

2 cups bean sprouts

3 green onions, chopped

1/3 cup chopped peanuts

salt and pepper to taste

For the sauce:

2 tbsp peanut butter

4 tbsp sesame oil

4 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp sesame seeds

Chicken Pad Thai Recipe - Pocketful of Sugar

DIRECTIONS:

1. Prepare the rice noodles according to package instructions. Meanwhile, in a wok or skillet, heat butter and cook chopped chicken in it until browned. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes, remove and set aside. Heat olive oil and cook onions over medium heat until tender (about 7-8 minutes).

2. Add prepared noodles, chicken and carrots into the vegetables and turn heat to low. Stir slightly to mix.

3. In a small bowl prepare the peanut sauce. Add the sauce to the pan and toss it all together briefly. Add salt and pepper to taste and garnish with the green onions and chopped peanuts.

[Yields two heaping servings]

our-growing-edge-badge

I served mine with my homemade Avocado Egg Rolls

(I’m told they’re similar to the ones at The Cheesecake Factory, but I’ve never had those)

… Click the photo below for that recipe 🙂

Avocado Egg Rolls - Pocketful of Sugar

5 thoughts on “Chicken Pad Thai: Our Growing Edge Challenge

  1. Pingback: Food Bucket List | Pocketful of Sugar

  2. Pingback: Avocado Egg Rolls | Pocketful of Sugar

  3. Pingback: Our Growing Edge… Edible All-Stars | Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Leave a Reply

