Maple Mustard Glazed Salmon

Maple Mustard Salmon - Pocketful of SugarNow I know a lot of people are not salmon fans for one reason or another. If you’re one of these people, I dare you to give it another shot. I think the problem with seafood haters (yeah, we’ll call them haters) is that they really haven’t had fish prepared well. Not to toot my own horn, but I’ve even converted some salmon nonbelievers into salmon lovers with this Maple Mustard Glazed Salmon recipe. So trust me on this one, I think you’re gonna like it.

INGREDIENTS:

1 part pure maple syrup

2 parts spicy mustard (brown or otherwise)

salmon fillet

1/2 lime

1/2 clove-1 clove minced garlic

salt and coarse ground pepper

*I didn’t do exact measurements here because it all depends on the size of the salmon fillet that you’re working with. I had a giant sockeye salmon fillet so I prepared a lot of the glaze and used an entire clove of garlic. If you’re cooking for one or two, you’ll probably only need about 2/3 cup of the glaze. Just adjust accordingly. You get the idea.

Maple Mustard Salmon -- Pocketful of Salmon

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat broiler with rack set 4 inches away from the heat. In a small bowl, mix together 1 part maple syrup, 2 parts of your favorite spicy mustard, and garlic to your own taste preference. Set aside.

2. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray or line with aluminum foil. Place salmon on the sheet, skin side down. Squeeze lime juice over salmon and season with salt and pepper. Place under broiler and cook for about 5-10 minutes, depending on fillet size (about 5 minutes for 6 oz fillets) or until the salmon is about 75% cooked through. Remove from oven and drizzle the fillet with the maple mustard mixture until coated evenly.

3. Return to the broiler and cook until glaze is bubbly and salmon is cooked through, about 2-5 minutes (again, depending on on fillet size). Salmon is cooked through when it flakes with a fork and is opaque. If you’re still unsure, click here. Serve on a bed of steamed asparagus, orzo, or couscous pilaf. I made orzo and tossed some sauteed broccoli in it. Delish!

2 thoughts on “Maple Mustard Glazed Salmon

    • I know, right? That’s how I feel about it. My new goal is to turn salmon haters into believers. I’ve noticed theres a big difference with frozen salmon and fresh salmon so opt for the fresh and make it that day or day after. Frozen salmon always tastes just a little off to me… Yikes.

Leave a Reply

